My Story

Name: Annabel Claire Luxford

Date of Birth: 2 March 1982

Place of Birth: Sydney, Australia

Home: Brisbane, Australia

Height/Weight: 169cm/54kg

Interests: Road trips, History, Music (but not singing it), Antique stores, Dog walking

Occupation: Professional Triathlete, Masters of Applied Law student

Education: Bachelor of Communication, Bond University; Graduate Diploma of Applied Law, University of QLD

 

My Story

“Mum can’t you go any faster?” That was what I said to my mother as we ran up the hill, near our home in Hobart, with our Airedale Terrier, Quincy. We were near the end of my first ever run and I was six. After continuous nagging, Mum had finally decided to let me tag along with her on her daily jog. I think she thought that after that one running experience I would lose interest, preferring to go to ballet classes, play my violin or have fun with my younger sister Laura, but this was not the case. Running became part of me and all these years later I am still running; however, now I swim and cycle as well.

I was born in Sydney, Australia; however, I have spent most of my life in Brisbane, Queensland. From an early age I have been involved in sport. Like many Australian kids, I started swimming at a young age. Whilst summers were spent at swimming squad, in the backyard pool and at the beach, it was running that I loved the most. At the age of ten I competed in my first national Cross Country Championships, finishing first in the 2000m event. From there I went on to medal at national level cross country and middle distance events throughout high school and won the Under 20 Australian Cross Country Championships. I also tackled gymnastics with much less success and found out that my distinct lack of hand eye coordination meant that tennis was not the sport for me.

I competed in my first triathlon at the age of nine. I rode a purple bike with a basket, spokey dokies and multi-coloured streamers. The distances were 100m swim, two kilometre bike and a 400m run. I just loved it! During summer throughout high school, I raced at state and national school triathlon events. At seventeen I made the Australian Junior team for the 1999 ITU World Championships in Montreal Canada, finishing fourth. In 2000, I was awarded a sporting scholarship to Bond University where I studied a Bachelor of Communication degree. During my time at university I had very little time to train, but each year I was selected in the Australian Junior or U23 team for the World Championships and each year finished top ten.

In 2004, at the age of 22, with the invaluable support of the Australian Institute of Sport, I began competing on the International Triathlon Union circuit. That year I won the U23 Elite World Championships in Madeira, won my first World Cup event in Gamagori, Japan and finished 2nd overall in the ITU World Cup Series Rankings. In 2005 I went on to finish 1st in the ITU World Cup Series Rankings and second at the ITU Elite World Championships in Gamagori. In subsequent years I represented Australia at the Commonwealth Games in Melbourne and reached the World Cup podium on sixteen occasions, including four wins. During these years I was fortunate to be able to spend northern hemisphere summers at the AIS training base in Aix les Bains, France and travel to races around the world.

From that first run in Hobart, and my first race my goal has always been to get the very best I can out of myself. My triathlon career has certainly had its ups and down; however, I love the challenges triathlon throws at me. 2012 will be my first year, based in the United States, and my first year with a non-drafting focus. I am really excited to see where this next phase of my career leads me.

Favourites

Foods: Japanese, Peanut Butter straight from the jar, Lemon Meringue Pie, Milk Shakes, Strawberries, Mangoes, Sweet Potato Fries, Lamb Roast, Frosty Fruits, Lollies.

Books: To Kill a Mockingbird, Cloudstreet, Possum Magic, Lonely Planet
Movies: Ferris Bueller’s Day Off, The Sound of Music, Pretty Woman
Music: U2, Phoenix, The Temper Trap, Mumford and Sons, The National, Alabama Shakes, Alt J, Cloud Control, Frank Sinatra

Places: Yamba Australia, Annecy France, Western Cape South Africa, Tokyo.

Training: Riding hills with my sister, Laura; Trail Runs, Swim sets with finger paddles and pull buoy